The herptile blog.

All about the herpetological world.

First herptile find for the season!

Posted by Miqe on March 19, 2009

 

I found my first ones of this season yeasterday.

When I go to work, I pass a little place where I have been thinking: “There might be an Adder there”. So, yesterday I walked there, it´s just 750 meters from work, to have a look.. Didn´t think that I was going to find anything, just wanted to check the place out..

After just a few minutes, I saw 2 V. berus basking, immediatley threwed myself on the ground with the camera.. :) Took a few pictures, and walked a little more. Only after 25 meters or so, I found another one.

A good day, in deed!

A couple of the pictures I took..

Basking V. berus, Common adder.

Basking V. berus, Common adder.

 

Basking V. berus, Common adder.

Basking V. berus, Common adder.

 

Link to a thread in my forum, regarding spring-findings.

8 Responses to “First herptile find for the season!”

  1. [...] video is about a European adder (Vipera berus) in N-E [...]

  2. Robby said

    Miqe,
    Congrats on your finds. I still haven’t found a snake outside of my house this season, but I have the same thoughts as you do when I drive past places. I always picture myself flipping and finding.
    Robby

  3. Nice post, and really impressive pictures. The guys blend in so well I’m amazed you could get pictures that clear. Good work!

  4. Michelle said

    Nice images, particularly the first one – good sharp focus on the eyes.

  5. Miqe said

    Thanks all, for your warm words!

    It seems that winter struck Sweden again.. When I woke up this morning, the temperatures was – 10 degr. C..

    Hopefully, it will turn to the better at the weekend..

  6. [...] video is about a European adder (Vipera berus) in N-E [...]

  7. [...] video is about a European adder (Vipera berus) in N-E [...]

  8. […] video is about a European adder (Vipera berus) in N-E […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

